Into the Heartland of Morocco

As we are riding in the bus to Beni-Mellal, I keep having to remind myself where I am. It just doesn’t seem real to be here. We are driving through the countryside which has a great deal of agriculture and boy is it flat! This area is pretty green despite the drought but you can see that if there is no rain soon things will be very scary for the people and livestock throughout the summer. It seems this year’s crazy weather had effected people worldwide.

While the northern cities we were in earlier were quite westernized, these areas are much more traditional and I am seeing and hearing more Arabic and less French. We are doing a lot of communicating using gestures and body language…like charades. But so far everyone has been wonderful to us. When my luggage got stuck in a street drain several men came to help which is not what would have happened in other cities I have visited

I just saw a school bus like the one I showed you in yesterday’s blog and it must have had 40 or more children crammed into it! They are going home for lunch and then will go back to school in the afternoon. However I have also seen many young people not in school but hanging around in the streets. They do not see that if they do not get some type of education they will never escape poverty. There was a quote on a teachers wall yesterday which said ” We are all born equal, it is education that makes us different”. That is certainly true here in Morocco I wonder what my students at home think?

I can just see the peaks of the Atlas mountains and they are snow covered. That is where I am heading. Maybe some of my students could try to figure out where I am and give me some ideas about what I should go do or go see!

I met my host teacher today. Her name if Fatimahzra and she is lovely. We joined one of her classes and the first question I was asked was what did I know about Islam and why do Americans not like Muslims? Talk about jumping into the heavy stuff right away! The students were so excited to have us in their class and I think it will be a joy to spend a week teaching and learning with them.

The pictures below are some of the scenery we passes on a bus ride and the first views of the Atlas Mountains. The buildings are homes.

20120322-220730.jpg

20120322-124625.jpg

20120322-123450.jpg

20120322-122312.jpg

3 Comments

  1. Simone

    This sounds incredible! Can’t wait to hear more details- especially about bus incident and the suitcase in a hole? You’re writing well too-only a few minor errors- hee, hee! So proud of you.

  2. Matt C.

    Love the quote. 🙂 Try this for something to do:

    http://www.lonelyplanet.com/morocco/central-morocco-and-the-atlas-mountains/things-to-do

    Hope you find what you’re looking for.
    Does Bsaha happen to mean with health?

    • Great job Matt. It mean “to your health” and you can use it as thank you or good bye. I will look into your link. Sultan.

      Sent from my iPod

Leave a Reply

